Prologue

Well if you are going to start anything a good place to start is always at the beginning. The last blog, such a long time ago, was very rambling so many apologies and lets start again. I am not the greatest writer but I enjoy it so hopefully that should improve in time.

So, some background. I am 47 years old and I live in Dorset with my husband, two children, a dog, various sheep and Bob & Brenda our orphan lambs. Yes, I really did walk out of a job two years ago with nothing to go to, it was a hard decision but a right one for me, although possibly selfish but i can honestly say I have never looked back. Life can be chaotic and thank god for a diary but everything seems so much better when you don’t leave in the dark and come home in the dark. And then last year our world was turned upside down when my husband was diagnosed with cancer. We had to give up our B&B business and learn to live our lives round the many scans, blood tests and chemotherapy until last month he had his first operation. We still have a way to go but we are getting there.

And in amongst all of this I decided that it would be great to start something completely different and learn how to make candles and soap and sell them. To this day I have absolutely no idea what possessed me to go down this road but here I am, two years on with a small and slowly growing business, selling said candles and soaps and also reed diffusers and refills. and its great, I love it, I never knew I had this in me. I was seriously the most uncrafty girl in my school, my art teacher despaired of me but I gave everything a good bash including pottery and spinning. Maybe in 2015 I went through a midlife crisis, but whatever it was I have had a new lease of life.

And so to the blog, I really wanted to get out there what I do, everyone says you must have a blog, but how boring would it be to just read about that week in week out. I could liven it up by the occasional notification on when one of our sheep had given birth, which appears to be quite random at the moment, but again, wouldn’t liven it up plenty and then I had a thought; Made at Burngate farm doesn’t need to just be about candles and soap and reed diffusers, now I have some time on my hands there is a myriad of things that I want to make and so I have given myself a challenge, to make, however successful or unsuccessful that may be, something new every week. Any ideas please feel free if not I am happy compiling of list of what I have always wanted to try and make. I can happily not include meringues on this list as I did overcome my fear of making them a couple of years ago, but there is still plenty of scope.

In the meantime here is a picture of Bob the orphan lamb who decided that Alfie the dog’s bed by the wood burning stove was the perfect place to sleep.IMG_0857

Next week: washing powder

Leave a Reply

